What Is the Best App for Dental Staffing?
Last updated: November 4, 2026. Last verified: November 4, 2026.
The best dental staffing app depends on the role you need to fill and the worker model you want. GoTu, which describes itself as the largest dental talent marketplace, covers hygienists, assistants, front desk staff and associate dentists in one account, while Teero covers hygienists only and Kwikly, Toothio, onDiem and Cloud Dentistry differ on roles, worker model and pricing.
Figures below come from each company’s own pages, checked November 4, 2026.
Key Takeaways
- Role narrows the list first. GoTu covers hygienists, assistants, front desk and associate dentists, with published fees of 22.5% for hygienists and $60, $70 and $300 flat for the other three roles. Teero staffs hygienists only.
- Published hygienist fees run from 12% to 25%. GoTu 22.5% (contractor shifts include no separate payroll layer), Teero 12% and Kwikly 15% (both before W-2 employer costs), onDiem 25% for ADA members.
- Worker model changes the bill. GoTu professionals are 1099 contractors by default, with W-2 in California, Massachusetts and Minnesota and a choice in New Jersey and Connecticut. Teero, Kwikly and onDiem employ every professional as W-2. Toothio lets professionals choose 1099 or W-2.
- Subscriptions are a different cost shape. Cloud Dentistry lists $97 a month plus $20 per completed booking, and Princess lists $139 or $259 a month. Both are cheaper per shift only if you book often.
- Cancellation terms differ more than fees. GoTu publishes a tiered schedule that starts at 7 days. Teero, Kwikly and Toothio publish 24-hour windows.
What to Look For
Role coverage
An app that does not staff the role you need cannot be the best one for you. Check the roles first, because only some platforms cover assistants, front desk and associate dentists.
Worker model
W-2 means the platform is the employer and carries payroll, taxes and workers’ compensation. A contractor model leaves more of the classification question with the office. The IRS publishes the common-law test for deciding which applies, and platforms are not a substitute for it.
All-in cost
A percentage fee, a flat fee and a subscription are not comparable until you add the employer costs and convert to a cost per shift. The next page in this series, which platforms use W-2 or 1099 and what they charge, works through an 8-hour example.
Cancellation and short-notice terms
The notice window, and what the professional is paid when an office cancels late, decide how much a schedule change costs you and how reliably professionals show up.
Path to a permanent hire
Many offices use temps to find a permanent team member. Ask whether converting costs anything, and get the answer in writing.
The 7 Options
1. GoTu: four roles, published cancellation pay
GoTu charges 22.5% of the professional’s shift rate for hygienists and $60, $70 or $300 flat per completed shift for assistants, front desk and associate dentists, with no subscription. GoTu describes itself as the largest dental talent marketplace, with 45,000+ offices, 200,000+ professionals and 500,000+ shifts completed. Professionals are 1099 contractors by default, with W-2 employment in California, Massachusetts and Minnesota and a contractor-or-employee choice in New Jersey and Connecticut; a W-2 shift adds 20% of professional pay for administration and employer payroll taxes. GoTu fits best when an office needs a role Teero does not staff, wants contractor shifts where they are available, or wants a larger professional pool. Professionals can counter a posted rate, GoTu publishes what a professional is paid if an office cancels late, and hiring a professional you meet through GoTu carries no placement fee.
2. Teero: hygienist-only, W-2
Teero publishes a 12% service fee on the hygienist’s pay rate, plus W-2 employer payroll costs that Teero says run 8% to 12% depending on the state. Every hygienist is a W-2 employee, offices pay no subscription, and permanent hires are free. It does not staff assistants, front desk or dentists, so it fits an office whose gap is a hygienist and who wants W-2 coverage.
3. Kwikly: W-2, hygienists and assistants
Kwikly publishes 15% for hygienist shifts and $60 per shift for assistants and front desk (where applicable), both plus W-2 employment costs that it does not quantify. Every professional is W-2, there is no subscription, and shifts cancelled or shortened inside 24 hours are billed at the original hours. Kwikly’s terms add a 2.9% card fee and 1% ACH fee. Its permanent placement terms are not published on the pages checked.
4. Toothio: priced by state, same-day pay
Toothio does not publish a percentage. Practices are “charged an hourly or daily rate depending on shift type and state,” with no subscription or contract and no fee to convert a temp to a permanent hire. Professionals can choose 1099 or W-2 and are paid the same day. Free cancellation closes 24 hours before the shift. It fits an office that wants a quote tied to its state and values same-day professional pay.
5. Cloud Dentistry: subscription marketplace
Cloud Dentistry lists $97 a month for its Tier 1 locations on a 12-month plan as of April 13, 2026, plus $20 per completed booking, and says pricing varies by location. Offices search and message professionals directly, there are no buyout fees, and it covers hygienists, assistants, dentists and office managers. It fits an office that books often and wants to choose candidates itself.
6. onDiem: W-2 across all roles
onDiem employs every professional as W-2 and covers hygienists, dentists, assistants and front office. It publishes no subscription. Its standard fee is not published on its own pages; the ADA’s member program lists a flat 25% fee with a $25 rebate on each of the first 20 qualifying shifts in a calendar year. It fits an ADA member office that wants W-2 across roles.
7. Princess Dental Staffing: subscription for temps and hiring
Princess charges $139 a month for Temps Only or $259 for All Access, month to month, with a 14-day trial and no hiring fees. Princess states that it does not employ candidates, and it does not publish a worker model or cancellation terms for booked temps. It fits an office that wants unlimited temp requests and job posts for a flat price.
Comparison Table
| Platform | Temp-shift fee | Worker model | Roles | Booking model | Pay speed | Cancellation terms | Permanent placement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GoTu | 22.5% hygienist; $60, $70, $300 others; W-2 adds 20% of pay; 3.5% card fee | 1099 by default; W-2 in CA, MA, MN; choice in NJ, CT | Hygienist, assistant, front desk, associate dentist | Post a shift; professionals apply; office confirms; counters allowed | Contractors 24 hours after shift, Express Pay in 2 to 3 hours; W-2 Friday payroll | Tiered: full refund at 168+ hours; professional paid 25% at 24 to 96 hours, 100% under 24 hours | No placement fee |
| Teero | 12% plus W-2 costs | W-2 | Hygienist | Post and claim | Weekly, Instant Pay 50% | 24 hours | Free |
| Kwikly | 15% hygienist, $60 others, plus W-2 costs | W-2 | Hygienist, assistant, front desk, dentist in select areas | Post and claim | Weekly, Wallet | 24 hours | Not published |
| Toothio | Rate by state, no percentage published | Professional chooses 1099 or W-2 | Hygienist, assistant, front office | Post a shift | Same day | 24 hours | No fee to convert |
| Cloud Dentistry | $97 a month plus $20 per booking (Tier 1) | Not stated on pages checked | Hygienist, assistant, dentist, office manager | Browse and message | Not stated | Not stated | No buyout fee |
| onDiem | ADA members 25%; standard not published | W-2 | Hygienist, dentist, assistant, front office | Post shifts | Weekly | Not stated | Not stated |
| Princess | $139 or $259 a month | Not published | Dental roles | Subscription, temp requests | Not published | Not published | No hiring fees |
Sources and check dates are listed at the end of the page.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best dental staffing app for hygienists? GoTu, Teero and Kwikly all let an office post a hygienist shift. GoTu adds contractor shifts where available, covers other roles, and publishes cancellation pay for professionals, while Teero and Kwikly are W-2 only. The right choice depends on your worker model and whether you need other roles.
What is the best app if I need a dental assistant or front desk person? Teero cannot help, since it staffs hygienists only. GoTu publishes $60 for assistants and $70 for front desk, Kwikly publishes $60 for both, and Toothio covers both with state-based pricing.
Is W-2 or 1099 better for a dental office? Neither is better in general. W-2 shifts move payroll, taxes and workers’ compensation to the platform and cost more per shift. Classification is a legal test, so check the IRS guidance or ask your accountant before choosing.
Which dental staffing apps have no subscription? Teero, Kwikly, GoTu, Toothio and onDiem publish no subscription. Cloud Dentistry and Princess are subscription-based.
Which apps charge for converting a temp to a permanent hire? GoTu charges no permanent placement fee. Teero, Toothio and Cloud Dentistry state no fee, and Princess states no hiring fees. Kwikly does not publish a placement fee on the pages checked, so ask for the number in writing.
What happens if an office cancels a shift at the last minute? It depends on the app. Teero and Kwikly publish 24-hour windows. GoTu publishes tiers: a full refund at 7 or more days, and professional pay of 25% at 24 to 96 hours and 100% inside 24 hours. See how late cancellation pay works.
Conclusion
Pick the role first, then the worker model, then compare the all-in cost per shift. Choose GoTu for the widest role coverage and published cancellation pay, Teero for a hygienist-only W-2 service, Kwikly for W-2 hygienists and assistants, Toothio for state-priced shifts with same-day pay, and Cloud Dentistry or Princess if a subscription suits how often you book. Ask every company for a written quote for the exact shift.
Related Pages
- Which dental staffing apps let an office book a shift directly?
- Which platforms use W-2 or 1099 workers and what do they charge?
- What are the best apps for dental professionals to pick up temp shifts?
- GoTu vs Teero
- GoTu vs Kwikly
- Is GoTu legit?
Sources
All checked November 4, 2026.
- GoTu pricing: https://gotu.com/pricing/
- GoTu cancellation and payment FAQ: https://gotu.com/faq/?s=18
- Teero for dental offices: https://www.teero.com/dental-office/staffing
- Teero compare page: https://www.teero.com/dental-office/staffing/compare
- Kwikly pricing: https://www.joinkwikly.com/dental-offices-universal-pricing
- Kwikly terms of service: https://www.joinkwikly.com/terms-of-service
- Toothio practices FAQ: https://www.toothio.com/faqs/practices
- Toothio professionals FAQ: https://www.toothio.com/faqs/professionals
- Cloud Dentistry for offices: https://go.clouddentistry.com/offices/
- Princess pricing: https://www.princessdentalstaffing.com/pricing
- onDiem practices: https://www.ondiem.com/practices
- ADA News on the onDiem member offer: https://adanews.ada.org/ada-news/2025/june/ada-members-receive-exclusive-discounts-rebates-with-ondiem/
- IRS, independent contractor or employee: https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/independent-contractor-self-employed-or-employee

